Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Counter formation for 4-1-3W-2

Counter formation for 4-1-3W-2

So I'm playing a pretty strong guy who's dominating the league and always uses this formation; he's the only one I've lost to this season.

Counter formation for 4-1-3W-2-screen-shot-2014-04-25-14.11.58.jpg

What's the best formation to counter this? We're on roughly equal when it comes to team quality as of now, although he seems to score a lot and appears more proficient than me in the league.

I'm pretty new at this (my first post on here) so apologies if I'm slow on the uptake/lingo.

All advice much appreciated.

Cheers.
    Last edited by Beats89; 04-25-2014 at 01:37 PM.

I've had a look through the well established posts on counter formations, but on all of the 4-1-3W-2 posts, they seem to be referring to a DMC followed by 3 midfielders.

As you can see by the screenshot, this is one MC followed by AML, AMC & AMR.

I await some wisdom.

I would use 4-5-1 v style, passing down both flanks, and whole pitch pressing

Thanks very much for the advice.

I'm not sure I have the requisite players to fill out the midfield, ie I only have two MCs. I have two pretty good MRs though, so could stick one at MC for one match I suppose?

Would a 4-4-2 classic work as well as 4-5-1? I read on another forum it might.

And lastly (apologies for the plethora of questions and lack of knowledge!), what does the 'v' stand for in the 4-5-1? Just that 4 defenders, 5 midfielders and 1 striker resemble a V?

Thanks again.

4-5-1 v style is:
    DL-DC---DC-DR
    ------DMC------
    ----MC---MC---
    AML--------AMR
    -------ST-------
    The midfielders make a v

Ah OK great - I can do that.

Although I was playing with I think this formation the last time I played him, and lost (albeit narrowly). However it may have been with one less defender and one extra striker which may explain it.