Thread: Thoughts on 4-3-3?

Thoughts on 4-3-3?

I'm looking to settle on one preferred formation. I'm a level 4 manager, and currently I keep changing my formations between a 4-5-1 "V" and 4-4-2 narrow diamond. For a couple reasons, there is a huge temptation for me to focus soley on a 4-3-3 narrow, and here are my reasons:

1. I buy most of my players in the open market, and rarely deal with negotiations or scout players. A 4-3-3 formation would allow me to focus on 6 positions (GK, DL, DC, DR, MC, ST) instead of 10 or 11. If it is one thing that has annoyed me, it is trying to upgrade a specific position (ex. AMR) and going weeks without seeing a suitable candidate on the market.

2. I did not have any trouble scoring goals in the first three seasons of my T11 career, and always finished with a 100+ goal differencial. This season is a bit different, and I was finding it hard to score with 1 ST, sometimes even 2 ST. Mind you, I have two 5 start STs and one 6 star ST. Without really knowing how the game engine works, I'm thinking that possibly going with a 3 ST formation might help in the goal scoring department.

3. Although my primary formation would be a 4-3-3, the formation is flexible and can easily switch to a 4-3-1-2 narrow or a 4-4-2 narrow diamond without too much adjustments to the stategy (ex. short passing through middle) depending on opponent.

I havent seen too much discusstion about this formation, and honestly I'm too lazy to search through all of the threads. Hopefully someone sees this post and can offer some insight. Thanks!

League 2X Winner 1X Runner Up, CL 2X Runner Up, Cup 1X Runner Up

Famous
    1. In my opinion 4-3n-3 is a strong formation. Its the formation that I've had the most trouble against!

2. Figuring out the game engine is trial and error. Two possibilities for it are;

a. Nordeus adjusts it from season to season, favoring different formations and mentalities from season to season.