c) Would have gone into the net but for being stopped by a defender who is the last man.
Very strange conclusion since your rule from some source gives "would have gone into the net" as a necessary precondition. If you say you can't know if it would go into the net once blocked then to apply the rule you would need to make a 'judgement' - which was the whole point of what I suggested.
Last Defender or opposition player/defender I can let slide. I disagree, but I can't say you're right and I'm wrong because I don't know the source (link would fix that).
So I agree that the mystery is solved for you.
Edit: since Opta use the last defender definition I can accept that, as I said above.


7Likes
LinkBack URL
About LinkBacks



Reply With Quote
I used the term blocked as a general term without realising that statisticians appear to use blocked and stopped as mutually exclusive. I should have referred to a stopped shot, as in the rule.
